The federal government has made its commitment to ensure it commence and complete the Lagos-Ibadan standard gauge rail line by the second quarter of 2019.

Minister of Transport, Rt. Hon. Chibuike Amaechi who stated this at the ground- breaking ceremony to mark the commencement of the construction of the Lagos-Kano standard gauge railway system with an extension to the Lagos port complex, Apapa by His Excellency, the Acting President, professor Yemi Osinbajo (SAN) (GCON) in Lagos on Tuesday, March 6, 2017.

According to the Minister, “the scope of the Lagos-Ibadan Railway Project …involves ancillary facilities which includes construction of eight railway stations and Apapa and Ebute-Metta and Intermediate stations at Agege, Kajola, Papalanto, Abeokuta, Omi-Adio. The station at Olodo is a passing station while the station at Ibadan is an intermediate station with technical operation. The services for locomotive workshop, rolling stock depot and marshalling yards will be located at Kajola, Ogun state.

“The extension of the Lagos-Ibadan rail line to the Lagos sea port will significantly enhance the export and import trade of the country. This project is multi-functional for both passenger and freight services connecting three states-Lagos, Ogun and Oyo.

“This line is based on traffic volume forecast of over 3.2 million tons of goods/cargoes per annum, while the passenger services can take 16 pairs of passenger trains. The railway line in the nearest future will be extended from Ibadan to Ilorin, Minna, Kaduna and Kano and will link the Federal Capital Territory via Kaduna”.

The Minister revealed that “the acquisition of land has also been planned to capture the need for joint estate development partnership as well as private sector logistic park and goods platform to generate the revenue for sustainance of the rail line and participate in the repayment of the loan”. Amaechi stated that the estimated completion period is the second quarter of 2019.

The ground braking ceremony was performed by Acting President Yemi Osinbajo.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here